Tag: Minotaur Books

Historical Mystery: THE THIRD NERO by Lindsey Davis

51pdPyVvwoL._SY346_ THE THIRD NERO by Lindsay Davis • Historical Mystery • Minotaur Books • Released July 11, 2017

In 90 A.D., following the Saturninus revolt in Germany, the Emperor Domitian has become more paranoid about traitors and dissenters around him.  This leads to several senators and even provincial governors facing charges and being executed for supposed crimes of conspiracy and insulting the emperor.  Wanting to root out all the supports of Saturninus from the Senate, one of Domitian’s men offers to hire Flavia Alba to do some intelligence work.

Flavia Alba, daughter and chip off the old block of Marcus Didius Falcon, would rather avoid any and all court intrigue, thank you very much.  But she’s in a bit of a bind.  Her wedding is fast approaching, her fiancé is still recovering – slowly – from being hit by a lightning bolt, and she’s the sole support of their household.  So with more than a few reservations, she agrees to “investigate.”

Adding to the confusion is yet another Nero pretender has shown up in Parthia and is trying to rally support for his claim for the throne.  With intrigue upon intrigue swirling around the capital city, it’s up to Alba to uncover what is – and isn’t – the real threat.

LINDSEY DAVIS is the author of the New York Times bestselling series of historical mysteries featuring Marcus Didius Falco, which started with The Silver Pigs, and the mysteries featuring Falco’s daughter, Flavis Alba, which started with The Ides of April.  She has also authored a few acclaimed historical novels, including The Course of Honour.  She lives in Birmington, UK.

Cozy Mystery: CAT ABOUT TOWN by Cate Conte

511DkQBNEqLCAT ABOUT TOWN by Cate Conte / Cozy Mystery / Minotaur Books / Released Aug 1, 2017

The first novel in a frisky new mystery series follows an unlikely citizen who is called in to solve the purrfect crime.  This cozy is perfect for fans of Miranda James, Clea Simon, and Rita Mae Brown.

Maddie James has arrived in Daybreak Island, just off the coast of Massachusetts, easy to settle down and start her own business – and maybe even fall in love.  When a stray orange tabby pounces into her life, she’s inspired to open a cat cafe.  But little does Maddie know that she’s in for something a lot more catastrophes when her new furry companion finds the dead body of the town bully.

Now all eyes are on Maddie:  Who is this crazy cat-whisperer lady who’s come to town?  If pet-hair-maintenance and crime-fighting weren’t keeping her busy enough, Maddie now has not one but two eligible bachelors who think she’s the cat’s pajamas … and will do anything to win her heart.  But how can she even think about happily-ever-after while a killer remains on the loose – and on her path?

CATE CONTE serves on the Sister in Crime New England board and is a member of Sisters in Crime National, Mystery Writers of American, and the Cat Writer’s Association.  She currently lives in Connecticut with her cats and dog.

New Release: A CAST OF VULTURES by Judith Flanders

514zs9cMQqLA CAST OF VULTURES by Judith Flanders / Mystery / Released March 1, 2017 by Minotaur Books

Normally sharp-witted, book editor Sam Clair stumbles through a post-book launch party morning with the hangover to end all hangovers.  But before the Ibuprofen has even kicked in, she finds herself entangled in an elaborate saga of missing neighbors, suspected arson and an odd, unidentified body.

By the time the grisly news breaks that the fire has claimed another victim, Sam is already hot in pursuit.  Armed once again with her biting commentary, her boyfriend Inspector Jake Filed, and her stalwart Goth assistant, Sam must track down the murderer and face a pair of Thugs-‘R’-Us in this uproariously funny and fast-paced mystery.

JUDITH FLANDERS is the New York Times bestselling author of The Invention of Murder, The Making of Home and is one of the foremost social historians of the Victorian era.  She is a contributor to the Daily Telegraph, Guardian, Spectator, and the Times Literary Supplement.  Before turning her hand to writing, Judith worked as an editor for various publishing houses, including the publications department of the National Portrait Gallery, London.  She lives in London.

 

New Release: LOVE & DEATH IN BURGUNDY by Susan C. Shea

51fRjVeLF7LLOVE & DEATH IN BURGUNDY by Susan C. Shea / Mystery / Released May 2, 2017 by Minotaur Books

Francophiles and Agatha Christie fans will savor this charming new series from critically acclaimed author Susan C. Shea.  LOVE & DEATH IN BURGUNDY introduces a witty and sophisticated village mystery willed with complex characters, and beautiful depictions of decadent food and the French countryside.

After three years of living in the small town of Reigny-sur-Canne, all Katherine Goff really wants is to be accepted by her neighbors into their little community.  But as an American expat living in the proud region of Burgundy, that’s no easy task.

When the elderly Frenchman who lives in the village chateau is found dead at the bottom of a staircase, the town is turned into a hot bed of gossip and suspicion, and Katherine suddenly finds herself drawn deeper and deeper into the small town’s secrets.  A motherless teenaged, a malicious French widow, a brash music producer, and a would-be Agatha Christie are among those caught up in a storm that threatens to turn Katerine’s quite life upside down.  As more and more of the villagers’ secrets are brought to light Katherine must try and figure out who, if anyone, in the town she can trust, and which one of her neighbors just might be a killer.

Susan Shea’s atmospheric mystery novel is filled with good Chablis, french cheese, and of course murder.

SUSAN C. SHEA spent more than two decades as a non-profit executive before beginning her career as a mystery author.  Susan is past-president of the northern California chapter of Sisters in Crime and secretary of the national SinC board, a member of MWA, and blogs on CriminalMinds.  She is also at the author of the Dani O’Rourke mystery series.  Susan lives in Marin County, California and travels to France as often as she can.

New Release: MURDEROUS MAYHEM AT HONEYCHURCH HALL by Hannah Dennison

61lIVUJheYL._SY346_MURDEROUS MAYHEM AT HONEYCHURCH HALL by Hannah Dennison / Mystery / Released May 2, 2017 by Minotaur Books

The fourth installment of the Honeychurch Hall mysteries finds Antique dealer Kat Stanford opening her antique business in the Devon countryside.  Word of mouth spreads but the erratic behavior of Kat’s first client causes suspicion and when he winds up connected to the Honeychurdh family a multilayered mystery presents itself.

Kat’s mother, Iris, also has a mystery of her own – the only copy of her new manuscript never arrives at her publisher.  There is every possibility that Muriel Jarvis, the postmistress and notorious busybody, may expose Iris’ secret identity as the bestselling romance writer Krystalle Storm.

In the spine-tingling climax, both past and present collide as Kat fights for her life and those she holds most dear, dancing once again with the dark forces lurking behind the grandeur of Honeychurch Hall.

HANNAH DENNISON began her writing career as a trainee reporter for a small West Country newspaper in Devon, England.  Hannah is a member of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of American, the Willamette Writers, British Crime Writers’ Association and Toastmasters International.  She is also the author of the Vicky Hill mysteries.

 

New Release: THE NO. 2 FELINE DETECTIVE AGENCY by Mandy Morton

51pdun5X0JL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_This looks adorable …

THE NO. 2 FELINE DETECTIVE AGENCY by Mandy Morton / Cozy Mystery / Released March 28, 2017 by Minotaur Books

Mandy Morton introduces us to two best friends, Hettie and Tilly.  They do all the normal things besties do, have dinner, gossip, and fight for those who can’t.  But they are cats.  The first book in the series, The No. 2 Feline Detective Agency is a world full of just cats doing human-like things.

Hettie Bagshot has bitten off more than any cat could chew.  As soon as she launches her No. 2 Feline Detective Agency, she’s bucketed into a case:  Furcross, home for slightly olders cats, has a nasty spate of bodysnatching, and three of the residents have been stolen from their graves.  Hettie and her sidekick, Tilly, set out to reveal the terrible truth.  Is Nurse Mogadon involved in a deadly game?  Has the haberdashery department of Malkin & Sprinkle become a mortuary?  And what flavor will Betty Butter’s pie of the week be?

In a haze of catnip and pastry, Hettie steers the Furcross Case to its conclusion, but will she get there before the body count rises – and the pie sells out?

MANDY MORTON began her professional life as a musician.  More recently, she has worked as a freelance arts journalist for national and local radio.  The No. 2 Feline Detective Agency series was inspired by her own cats, Hettie and Tilly.

New Release: DEVIL’S BREATH by G.M. Malliet

519-NHxK9uL._SY346_DEVIL’S BREATH A Max Tudor Mystery by G.M. Malliet

Mystery / Released April 11, 2017 by Minotaur Books

When the body of glamorous film star Margot Browne washes ashore, Max’s former colleague Patrice Logan, heavily pregnant, asks Max for help.  It’s a perfect “closed circle” murder since Margot must have been killed by one of the actors, stylists, screenwriters, or second-tier royalty aboard the yacht where she was vacationing.  Patrice suspects the yacht’s owner, a playboy film director she’s been keeping tabs on for smuggling, but Max isn’t so sure.  Max and DCI Cotton interview the suspects as they loll about one of the luxury hotels dotting the waterfront.  Tipped by the playboy director, Max uncovers the truth about the star’s life.  But would Margot kill – or be killed – to keep her lurid past in the past?

Max’s investigation uncovers a host of motives but only one killer:  it seems Margot is not the only person on board with a secret they’d kill to keep.

G.M. MALLIET’S first St. Just mystery won the 2008 Agatha Award for Best First Novel, and was chosen by Kirkus Reviews as a best book of the year.  It was nominated for several awards, including the Anthony, the Macavity, and a Left Coast Crime award for best police procedural.  She has since been nominated for nearly every major crime-writing award, including the Anthony (audiobook and short story).  Her series debut, Wicked Autumn, featuring a former MI% agent turned vicar of a small English village debuted in the autumn of 2011.  She attended graduate school in Cambridge and Oxford; she and her husband travel frequently to the U.K., the setting for her books.