Tag: GLBT

New Release: BROMANTICALLY YOURS by K.C. Wells

bromantically-yoursBROMANTICALLY YOURS by K.C. Wells / GLBT Contemporary / Released Feb 14, 2018 by Dreamspinner Press

A friends-to-lovers novella that came from Out of the Shadows, because Nate and Dylan needed a story….

Nate and Dylan have been pals for a long time. So what if their friends think they’ve got a little bromance going? Doesn’t mean there’s anything more to it than that, right? And even if there is, Nate and Dylan are totally oblivious….

Until the night they share a drunken kiss—and everything changes.

New Release: SMOLDERING FLAME by Andrew Grey

smoldering-flameSMOLDERING FLAME by Andrew Grey / Contemporary GLBT / Released Feb 13, 2018 by Dreamspinner Press

Sometimes the strongest flames take the longest to ignite.

Firefighter Dean’s life revolves around his very ill son, Sammy. Caring for Sammy and working to make ends meet leave Dean time for little else, and romance isn’t something he can even consider—no matter how much he longs for someone special to join their family. Because money is tight, Dean couldn’t be more grateful to the photographer who does Sammy’s session free of charge.

After growing up in the foster care system, Marco knows how to rely on himself, and his hard work is about to pay off—he’s poised on the cusp of fame and success he could only have imagined as a lonely child. When Dean brings Sammy into Marco’s studio, Marco can see they’re struggling, and both the boy and his father stir Marco’s heart. The slow burn between the two men isn’t something either expected, but neither wants to lose the possibility of a loving future. With Dean’s dangerous and possibly life-threatening career and Marco’s demanding one, can romance and forever find a place to fit?

New Release: REIGN OF THE FALLEN by Sarah Glenn Marsh

51w+H+KUzFLREIGN OF THE FALLEN by Sarah Glenn Marsh / YA Romance LGBT / Released Jan 23, 2018 by Razorbill

Without the dead, she’d be no one.

Odessa is one of Karthia’s master necromancers, catering to the kingdom’s ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it’s Odessa’s job to raise them by retrieving their soul from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands. But there is a cost to being raised: the Dead must remain shrouded. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, a grotesque transformation begins, turning the Dead into terrifying, bloodthirsty Shades.

A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears around the kingdom. Soon, a crushing loss of one of her closest companions leaves Odessa shattered, and reveals a disturbing conspiracy in Karthia: Someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead–and training them to attack. Odessa is forced to contemplate a terrifying question: What if her magic is the weapon that brings the kingdom to its knees?

Fighting alongside her fellow mages–and a powerful girl as enthralling as she is infuriating–Odessa must untangle the gruesome plot to destroy Karthia before the Shades take everything she loves.

Perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Red QueenReign of the Fallen is a gutsy, unpredictable read with a surprising and breathtaking LGBT romance at its core.

Blog Tour: DADDY NEEDS A DATE by Sean Michael

51dfKay8+BLThank you so much to Book Breeze for having me today!

DADDY NEEDS A DATE by Sean Michael / Romance / Released Dec 18, 2017 by Dreamspinner Press

I’ve brought an excerpt from Daddy Needs a Date. I loved writing this story about the daddy who would do anything for his daughters. Anything at all.

This excerpt is of the first meeting between Ryan and Alex.

Continue reading “Blog Tour: DADDY NEEDS A DATE by Sean Michael”

Review: WAVE GOODBYE TO CHARLIE by Eric Arvin

51qhmyM0aTLWAVE GOODBYE TO CHARLIE By Eric Arvin

Fantasy / Second edition released April 3, 2017 by Dreamspinner Press / (First edition published by Wilde City Press October 2014)

My name’s Charlie. I’m many things, though none of them having to do with any real talent. I’m a runaway, a hustler when I need to be, a ghost when I have to scare hoodlums away from my home, and a loner who maybe reads too much. But most of all, I’m the keeper of the carnival. That’s how I see myself. I look after the place ’cause even dying things need to be cared for. Maybe it’s illegal. Maybe that rusty metal fence around the carnival is supposed to keep me out too. Or maybe me and this place were meant to find each other. Truth is, I never felt at home anywhere but here, not even in all the foster families and orphanages I was placed in as a young shit. They don’t look for me no more, those places. I suspect I ran away so much they finally just said, “Fuck! Let him go.” I am a hangnail on society’s manicured middle finger. I’m older. One year past the age anyone gives a shit. 

And this is my adventure…

I am an eclectic reader. I look for interesting stories of all genres. As a reviewer, I get a lot of emails from publishers on new releases. When I received an email from Dreamspinner Press about rereleasing WAVE GOODBYE TO CHARLIE I was fascinated by the amazing cover by artist John Coulthart. I just had to read the book.

WOW.

Seriously, I mean WOW.

The fact that this is a M/M story is inconsequential. This is an adventure in this world and the next. A story of friendship, and loyalty and the power of love versus evil. A page-turner of epic standards full of twists and turns, none of which I saw coming.

Eric Arvin, I am a fan and this will not be the last book of yours that I read.

New Release: SURFACING by Daniel Stephens

51wA9BNutWL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_SURFACING by Daniel Stephens / Released April 27 by The Wild Rose Press / GLBT Romance

Used to luxurious, high-profile city life, Chris’s world is shattered when tragedy takes his husband and young son.  Seeking a life free from pain, Chris returns to his grandfather’s cabin on the shore of Wolf Thorn Lake, Maine.

When Chris meets Jake, the earthy young man who resides across the lake, Chris faces his most challenging decision yet.  Does he continue his life alone, or does he risk his heart and the potential of love he sees illuminated in Jake’s warm eyes?

A young man running from pain, a rural free spirit with the ability to heal, and a wolf who haunts the shore-line of Wolf Thorn Lake illustrate the endurance of the human heart, the capacity of learn how to love again, and the heart’s ability to restore even the most wounded of men.

Review: SUTPHIN BOULEVARD by Santino Hassell

Sutphin BoulevardSutphin Boulevard by Santino Hassell

Dreamspinner Press GLBT

Very much an adult story – not just due to the sex, but because of the situations and themes. This is no sweet romance – Michael and Nunzio have been best buddies for most of their lives, , but an unexpected sexual encounter changes the dynamic of their friendship just as Michael’s family is falling apart under the burden of his alcoholic father who has come home after abandoning the family years before. The pressure creates problems for Michael at work – he teaches in an inner-city high school — and exacerbates his own issues. When his father dies of the illness created by the alcoholism, Michael goes into a death spiral that lands him in a rehab center, where he finally confronts his own alcoholism, and his own emotions.

I am not a big-city person, but this novel would have to be set in a big city and Hassell wears New York like it was tailored for him. Even the minor characters are unique individuals, and besides heaving a sigh of relief when Michael finally gets his act together, I found myself with a strong admiration for anybody teaching in the NYC school system.

Not a light read, but one I couldn’t put down.

Got to give this one an A … that is, 5 paws up.

Review provided by Ace Katzenbooks for the October 2015 issue of The Book Breeze.