Category: New Adult / Young Adult

New Release: INDECENT by Corinne Sullivan

419ppRcunGLINDECENT by Corinne Sullivan / YA / Released March 6, 2018 by St. Martin’s Griffin

Blurring the lines of blame and moral ambiguity, Indecent by Corinne Sullivan is a smart, sexy debut. 

Shy, introverted Imogene Abney has always been fascinated by the elite world of prep schools, having secretly longed to attend one since she was a girl in Buffalo, New York. So, shortly after her college graduation, when she’s offered a teaching position at the Vandenberg School for Boys, an all-boys prep school in Westchester, New York, she immediately accepts, despite having little teaching experience—and very little experience with boys.

When Imogene meets handsome, popular Adam Kipling a few weeks into her tenure there, a student who exudes charm and status and ease, she’s immediately drawn to him. Who is this boy who flirts with her without fear of being caught? Who is this boy who seems immune to consequences and worry; a boy for whom the world will always provide?

As an obsessive, illicit affair begins between them, Imogene is so lost in the haze of first love that she’s unable to recognize the danger she’s in. The danger of losing her job. The danger of losing herself in the wrong person. The danger of being caught doing something possibly illegal and so indecent.

Exploring issues of class, sex, and gender, this smart, sexy debut by Corrine Sullivan shatters the black-and-white nature of victimhood, taking a close look at blame and moral ambiguity.

New Release: MY NAME IS VENUS BLACK by Heather Lloyd

MY NAME IS VENUS BLACK51SVLi4oMjL by Heather Lloyd / YA / Released Feb 27, 2018 by The Dial Press

Venus Black is a straitlaced A student fascinated by the study of astronomy—until the night she commits a shocking crime that tears her family apart and ignites a media firestorm. Venus refuses to talk about what happened or why, except to blame her mother. Adding to the mystery, Venus’s developmentally challenged younger brother, Leo, goes missing.

More than five years later, Venus is released from prison with a suitcase of used clothes, a fake identity, and a determination to escape her painful past. Estranged from her mother, and with her beloved brother still missing, she sets out to make a fresh start in Seattle, skittish and alone. But as new people enter her orbit—including a romantic interest and a young girl who seems like a mirror image of her former lost self—old wounds resurface, and Venus realizes that she can’t find a future while she’s running from her past.

In this gripping story, debut novelist Heather Lloyd brilliantly captures ordinary lives thrust into extraordinary circumstances. Told through a constellation of captivating voices, My Name Is Venus Black explores the fluidity of right and wrong, the pain of betrayal, and the meaning of love and family.


51OHFPhui9LBROKEN BEAUTIFUL HEARTS by Kami Garcia / YA Romance / Released Feb 6, 2018 by Macmillan

Audiobook read by Brittany Pressley

“A masterpiece story, delivered perfectly.”

Broken Beautiful Hearts is the kind of story that lingers in your mind and your heart. It is written with the perfect balance of difficult life choices and the kind of romance that is as much personal empowerment as it is love story. This book was a delight and I am happy to recommend it to readers from young adult and up. While the protagonist is a high school student, the subject matter is timely and so well written it would be a shame to restrict it to the YA market.

Garcia’s writing is tight and manages a spectacular level of tension. The topics include parental loss, fractured friendships, injury recovery, stalking, steroid use, MMA fighting, and the difficulties of moving to a small town high school where football is the biggest show in town. Each step raises the emotional stakes without going over-the-top.

There are consequences for doing the right thing and they can be far more costly than looking the other way. With a soccer scholarship on the line Peyton looks forward to the upcoming spring season. Everything changes when she discovers her boyfriend is making questionable choices in his life. Verbal confrontation leads to a breakup that goes terribly wrong. For Peyton, telling the truth about what happened that night may be even more devastating than a potentially career-ending injury. In order to get back on track she moves from the D.C. area to rural Tennessee, to live with relatives.

I won’t offer any spoilers because every reader deserves the opportunity to experience the story as the characters live it. There are no easy fixes or shortcuts in this story, no light treatment of difficult subject matter. The author allows the action to unfold at just the right pace.

Narrators can make or break a great story. Brittany Pressley managed to take a great story to an even higher level. There was tension and angst, humor and affection, all without over dramatization. This is a story I could not step away from and consumed all at once.

I look forward to more from this author and narrator combination.

Reviewed by Laurel Newberry for The Book Breeze

I received a free audio copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I will be purchasing a copy for my personal library.


New Release: REIGN OF THE FALLEN by Sarah Glenn Marsh

51w+H+KUzFLREIGN OF THE FALLEN by Sarah Glenn Marsh / YA Romance LGBT / Released Jan 23, 2018 by Razorbill

Without the dead, she’d be no one.

Odessa is one of Karthia’s master necromancers, catering to the kingdom’s ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it’s Odessa’s job to raise them by retrieving their soul from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands. But there is a cost to being raised: the Dead must remain shrouded. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, a grotesque transformation begins, turning the Dead into terrifying, bloodthirsty Shades.

A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears around the kingdom. Soon, a crushing loss of one of her closest companions leaves Odessa shattered, and reveals a disturbing conspiracy in Karthia: Someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead–and training them to attack. Odessa is forced to contemplate a terrifying question: What if her magic is the weapon that brings the kingdom to its knees?

Fighting alongside her fellow mages–and a powerful girl as enthralling as she is infuriating–Odessa must untangle the gruesome plot to destroy Karthia before the Shades take everything she loves.

Perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Red QueenReign of the Fallen is a gutsy, unpredictable read with a surprising and breathtaking LGBT romance at its core.

Book Excerpt BETWEEN THE BLADE AND THE HEART by Amanda Hocking

BETWEEN THE BLADE AND THE HEART by Amanda Hocking / Young Adult Fantasy / Released Jan 2, 2018 by St. Martin’s PressCover Between the Blade and the Heart



The air reeked of fermented fish and rotten fruit, thanks to the overflowing dumpster from the restaurant behind us. The polluted alley felt narrow and claustrophobic, sandwiched between skyscrapers.

In the city, it was never quiet or peaceful, even at three in the morning. There were more than thirty million humans and supernatural beings coexisting, living on top of each other. It was the only life I’d ever really known, but the noise of the congestion grated on me tonight.

My eyes were locked on the flickering neon lights of the gambling parlor across the street. The u in Shibuya had gone out, so the sign flashed SHIB YA at me.

The sword sheathed at my side felt heavy, and my body felt restless and electric. I couldn’t keep from fidgeting and cracked my knuckles.

Continue reading “Book Excerpt BETWEEN THE BLADE AND THE HEART by Amanda Hocking”

Interview with Amanda Hocking, author of BETWEEN THE BLADE AND THE HEART

Cover Between the Blade and the HeartBETWEEN THE BLADE AND THE HEART by Amanda Hocking / YA / Released January 2, 2018 / St. Martin’s Press


When the fate of the world is at stake
Loyalties will be tested

Game of Thrones meets Blade Runner in this commanding new YA fantasy inspired by Norse Mythology from New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking.

As one of Odin’s Valkyries, Malin’s greatest responsibility is to slay immortals and return them to the underworld. But when she unearths a secret that could unravel the balance of all she knows, Malin along with her best friend and her ex-girlfriend must decide where their loyalties lie. And if helping the blue-eyed boy Asher enact his revenge is worth the risk—to the world and her heart.


Q: What or who was the inspiration behind Between the Blade and the Heart

A: I have already written several books inspired by Scandinavian folklore, and I was always fascinated by Valkyries. But because I had already done in Scandinavian fantasy, I wanted to come at this one from a different angle. I imagined the Valkyries helping to police a gritty, diverse, cyberpunk metropolis, in a world filled with not just Norse figures but from many mythologies.

Continue reading “Interview with Amanda Hocking, author of BETWEEN THE BLADE AND THE HEART”

Review: LEFT TO CHANCE by Amy Sue Nathan

51xSI1ZVj9L._SY346_LEFT TO CHANCE by Amy Sue Nathan / YA / Released Nov 2017 by St. Martin’s Griffin

“Left to Chance” by Amy Sue Nathan is an engaging read, the author’s voice capturing my attention immediately, and the story line holding my attention from beginning to end.

“Left to Chance” is heroine Teddi Lerner’s journey to a past she’s been trying to avoid for six years. Back in Chance, her small home town in Ohio, lay memories of her deceased best friend, her best friend’s surviving daughter and husband, and their joint friends who feel abandoned by Teddi’s six year absence which began before her friend’s funeral even Continue reading “Review: LEFT TO CHANCE by Amy Sue Nathan”