Interview: Melissa Klein author of the Out of Uniform series

thumbnail_klein13024-12-8x101Tell us about your new release.

Out of Bounds is the first in the Out of Uniform series which centers on a group of naval aviators and the challenges they face after leaving the Navy. In Out of Bounds, Avery Madigan and Connor St. James are long-time competitors who reconnect at a retirement ceremony. Both have matured over the years and are ready to put their rivalry behind them. They even agree to a vacation fling. However, just as each considers something more, fate intervenes. Old wounds are reopened and trust is destroyed. In order to give their fledgling love a second chance, rule-follower Avery must learn to bend and Connor has to mend his maverick ways.

51luv0etg3lWhat led you to write this book?

I come from a military family, and the men and women of our armed forces are the ultimate heroes in my opinion. At one point in my life, I was friends with several naval aviators. I’ve never met a more arrogant group of people, but I’d be pretty cocky too if I could set a super-sonic aircraft on a spot the size of a postage stamp. I love their bravery and sacrifice as well as their confidence. Crafting characters inspired by those men and women has been my way of supporting their efforts.

Do you have a favorite fictional character by another author you’d like to meet?

I’d pay big bucks to meet any of the vampires in J. R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood world.

Do you have an interesting quirk about your personality that you’d like to share?

I like to be prepared for any possibility. You never know when disaster—or opportunity—might strike. Not only to I have a well thought out “bug out bag,” I never leave home without my passport and a pair of clean panties.

What is #1 on your bucket list?

I would love to be able to take my extended family on a vacation.

Have you ever written a scene that ‘creeped’ you out?

I wrote a murder scene for an upcoming book that gave me nightmares. It takes place in a hospital garden very similar to a meditation garden I’ve been in. It’s closed in on all sides by the different hospital wings and would be the perfect place for a villain to trap his victim. Now I can’t go into that garden anymore.

What social media do you participate in? I love Pinterest and Twitter, but I’m most active on Facebook. I can be found at www.facebook.com/Melissa.Klein.Romance/

What’s next for you? I’m finishing up Out of Time, Sebastian and Grace’s story. It should come out some time in 2017.

Leave a Reply

