Interview: RE Mullins, paranormal author

remullins-photoThough RE Mullins has resided in Oklahoma, Michigan, and Colorado, she spent the majority of her life in the beautiful southwestern portion of Missouri. It was there she earned her BA at MSSC in Joplin, MO. During the time spent surrounded by blood samples as a phlebotomist and an assistant instructor at Ozark Tech’s Continuing Education Course in phlebotomy that RE was, somehow, inspired to start her first vampire romance.

Tell us about your new release.

avampiretobereckonedwith_w10035_medA Vampire To Be Reckoned With is the third book in the: Blautsaugers of Amber Heights series. The series deals with the Blautsaugers, a powerful vampire family, though each book features a different family member. In A Vampire To Be Reckoned With we get Metta’s story. The youngest daughter might appear to be the birdbrain of the family but she’s got hidden depths and is hiding some dangerous secrets.

How important is setting to your story?

Those who know me will recognize various descriptions of different locations in my books. Grand Falls on Shoal Creek, Low Water Bridge, and the Greenway Trail to name a few of them.

Are any of your characters loosely based on people you know in real life?

No they aren’t—though several relatives don’t seem to believe me. I happen to like my brother-in-law’s name, Rassey. So I asked for and got permission to use it for one of my characters. Now I can’t convince Rassey that I’m not writing about him. However, as far as I know, he isn’t a vampire. I will also admit to once, blush-blush, naming a bad guy after an ex before killing him off with great gusto.

Do you people watch for character inspiration?

Long before I put ink to paper; I’ve always been an avid ‘people watcher’. In fact, I think I started people watching from the moment I was born.

Do you have a favorite fictional character by another author you’d like to meet?

I’ve several ‘book boyfriends’ that I’d give my eyeteeth to meet. However, fantasy is fantasy and I doubt they’d be all that dewy in real life.

What do you hope readers take away from your work?

My fondest hope is that my readers will find a bit of humor, a bit of gross-out factor, and a little toe-curling romance. I want them to be able to escape, if only for a little while, in the fantasy world I’ve created.

its-a-wonderful-undead-life-coverHave you ever written a scene that ‘creeped’ you out?

Oh, my yes, in my debut novel It’s a Wonderful Undead Life I describe my character, Cailey as she deals with her need for blood after being bitten by a vampire. Terrified and not sure what is happening to her, she finds herself driven to suck the bloody juices from the raw red meat in her refrigerator.

Do you have a favorite writing place or writing rituals?

I have a tiny office set up with a long craft table. Every inch of its surface is covered by things I consider vital to the writing process—mainly my coffee carafe and cup warmer. There’s a window which overlooks a field where deer often graze. Right beyond that is a football-field-sized pond, where I’ve seen a Great White Egret, Great Blue Heron, countless Canada Geese, and several beaver. All this wildlife has led to my FB posts which I call: View From My Writing Window.

Leave a Reply

