Interview with Rachel Brimble

Rachel lives with her husband and two teenage daughters in a small town near Bath in the UK. After having several novels published by small US presses, she secured agent representation in 2011. Since 2013, she has had five books published by Harlequin Superromance (Templeton Cove Stories) and recently signed a contract for three more. She also has three Victorian romances with eKensington/Lyrical with a fourth due for release in March 2016.

Rachel is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and Romance Writers of America, and was selected to mentor the Superromance finalist of So You Think You Can Write 2014 contest. When she isn’t writing, you’ll find Rachel with her head in a book or walking the beautiful English countryside with her family. Her dream place to live is Bourton-on-the-Water in South West England.

She likes nothing more than connecting and chatting with her readers and fellow romance writers. Rachel would love to hear from you!

Which is more important characters or setting?

Setting is definitely important to enable the reader to feel grounded in the characters’ lives but I think the characters themselves are the most important. Their goals, motivations and conflicts are what drive the story and, hopefully, keep the reader turning the pages as quickly as possible. Without believeable, three-dimensional characters a plot would be boring.

Do you have a favorite fictional character by another author you’d like to meet?

Eve Dallas from JD Robb’s In Death series! She is fabulous and so well-developed. On the outside she’s tough, kick ass, no-nonsense cop, but scratch beneath the surface and you have an abuse survivor with a big heart and huge vulnerability. Perfect heroine!

What do you do when you are not writing?

I love to read (of course!) and my tastes range from almost every sub-genre of romance, to historical fiction to crime. I also love to knit and walk the English countryside with my chocolate lab and my family.

Which book impacted you as a teenager?

Everything by Judy Blume – I devoured her books and pushed them at my own teenage daughters to read. Hugely entertaining while giving a young reader information and support through tough times. Fantastic writing.

What social media do you participate in?

I’m very active on Twitter and Facebook – I like to intersperse promo posts with my personal life. I think it’s important for authors to allow readers into their lives as well as their work. Everyone likes to see into people’s homes!

What’s next for you?

My next release will, hopefully, be coming in the autumn and it will be book 6 in my Harlequin Superromance Templeton Cove series – this is the first firefighting story I’ve written and I’m excited to share it with my readers. All the books can be read as stand-alone stories.

Leave a Reply

