Interview: Jana Lane from PORCELAIN DOLL

PorcelaincoverInterview with Jana Lane, the leading character in PORCELAIN DOLL, a Jana Lane mystery by Joe Cosentino, published by Wild Rose Press

Welcome, Jana Lane. It’s my pleasure to interview America’s most famous ex-child star.

It’s my pleasure to be here.

For our readers, what do you look like?

I’m an average forty-year-old woman living in 1982.

I’ll tell you, folks. Jana has porcelain skin, sky-blue eyes, a button nose, deep dimples, ruby red lips, velvety strawberry-blonde hair, and terrific petite figure. Jana, what’s it like to be middle aged in 1982?

I believe women are like wine. We get better with age. 1982 is a wonderful time to be in my prime with music like Laura Brannigan’s “Gloria” and Diana Ross’ “Mirror, Mirror.” I also love the teased hair, shoulder pads, off the shoulder blouses, blue eye shadow, and bold colors.

What’s it like living in a five acre estate in Hyde Park, New York, with twinkling Hudson River and stoic mountain views?

My husband, three children, and I love our home. Though I lived in Hollywood for most of my childhood, New York will always be home. 

You were America’s highest grossing child star from the time you were six years old to eighteen years old in hit movies like Daddy’s Girl, The Cowgirl and the Bandit, Jungle Girl, Young Mermaid, Pink Ballerina, Surfer Girl, Girl Astronaut, and the Sweet Candy Striper. What was it like being America’s sweetheart?

I felt like God’s special child. Every move I made mattered to someone. What I ate or didn’t eat. What time I went to bed. What I wore. The length of my hair. A lot of people’s livelihoods depended on me. I worked hard. And my personal life was well, I didn’t have a personal life. I couldn’t date. I couldn’t go out alone. I couldn’t talk to a reporter without someone from the studio with me.

What was fun about it?

Learning how to do things like steer a motorboat, swim for hours at a time, ride my horse Ginger. It was also fun to be recognized—and it still is! People I would meet on the street expressed an unwavering devotion to me. They really believed that I was the girl in the movies who could outsmart the villains, perform acts of bravery, and save those she loved from every evil fate.

What was it like going to movie premieres?

Once we arrived at the movie theater in the limousine, a red carpet led us inside. Camera flashes went off in all directions. Hundreds of people screamed and cried out my name, as I smiled and waved. Once inside the theater, I saw my face on that screen as large as a billboard. I was not only the central character in my own life, but in everybody’s life in that audience. I felt so loved and protected, until it all went away when I was eighteen.

Why did you leave the business?

I was attacked at the studio. I didn’t discover the identity of my attacker until twenty years later. You can read all about it in PAPER DOLL.

I will. But now in PORCELAIN DOLL you are making a comeback film, His Obsession.

With my husband, Brian, away on business, and my boys at summer camp, it was the perfect time to do a film. I was thrilled when my longtime agent, Simon Huckby, told me the film was packaged by mega-agent Mryna Buller, and will be directed by the top director of thrillers, Jack Capello. What made me jump for joy was when Simon told me the film would be shot at my home!

Tell me about Simon.

Simon is somewhere between sixty and a hundred years old. He discovered me in a play on Broadway when I was five years old. Ever since he has been my watchdog and my greatest fan. He and his partner, Cornelius Chamberlain, live in Rhinebeck, the next town, to watch over me.

What’s the film about?

I play a married ex-child star being stalked by her personal assistant, played by Trevor Masquer, a James Dean type rebel without a cause. Tom Strong, a John Wayne type actor, plays my husband.

And who plays your leading man?

Jason Apollo, America’s heartthrob plays the detective on the case and my love interest.

For the straight women and gay men out there, what does Jason look like?

He’s thirty-four with sculpted features, sparkling blue eyes, thick blond hair, and a muscular body. Though he’s one of the biggest box office movie stars, he has a sensitive, boyish quality and slight southern accent that turns women into putty.

Even you, Jana?

You have to read PORCELAIN DOLL to find out.

I’ll have to ask your makeup man, Hylas, or your son’s nanny, Gloria.

Don’t ask Reverend Rodney Charlton. He’s been causing trouble for us on the set.

In what way?

Saying our film and our company are immoral.

As I understand, Reverend Charlton isn’t your only problem on the set? Gloria has been carrying on with various men in the company.

Very true. And our assistant director, Ryan O’Halloran was murdered when a light fell on him during shooting—with everyone standing near him.

Who’s going to figure out who-dun-it?

Since the local detective, Mario Rivera, doesn’t believe Ryan was murdered, it’s up to me. I’ll figure it out by using the skills I learned as a child star in films like The Girl Detective, School Spy, and The Cutest Scientist.

Which as I’ve heard makes PORCELAIN DOLL a page-turning mystery romance with clever plot twists, engaging characters, and lots of clues leading to a shocking conclusion.

I agree.

 

What’s next for you Jana?

In SATIN DOLL (not yet released), my family and I head to Washington, DC, where I play a US senator in a new film, Madam Senator, and become embroiled in murder and corruption at the senate chamber. I also embark on a flirtation with Chris Bruno, the ex-football player/detective. In CHINA DOLL (not yet released), I head to New York City to star in a Broadway play, China Doll, and become enchanted by my gorgeous co-star Peter Stevens, and faced with murder on stage and off.

You’re an amazing woman, Jana Lane.

I give all the thanks to Joe Cosentino, the man behind this woman. I would not be here if it weren’t for him.

 

How can we read PORCELAIN DOLL to spend more time with you?

Go to: http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=6684, or find it on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, All Romance, or other booksellers.

Thank you for a stimulating interview, Jana.

My pleasure!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

