Interview: Tracy Weber, author

Weber Small HeadshotTracy Weber is the author of the award-winning Downward Dog Mysteries series. The first book in the series, Murder Strikes a Pose, won the Maxwell Award for Fiction and was nominated for the Agatha award for Best First Novel.

A certified yoga therapist, Tracy is the owner of Whole Life Yoga, a Seattle yoga studio, as well as the creator and director of Whole Life Yoga’s teacher training program. She loves sharing her passion for yoga and animals in any way possible. Tracy and her husband Marc live in Seattle with their challenging yet Murder Strikes Poseamazing German shepherd, Tasha. When she’s not writing, Tracy spends her time teaching yoga, walking Tasha, and sipping Blackthorn cider at her favorite ale house.

Karma’s a Killer is her third novel. For more information on Tracy and the Downward Dog Mysteries, visit her author website: http://TracyWeberAuthor.com/

Tell us about your new release.

My newest release is Karma’s a Killer. Here’s my favorite blurb.

When Yoga instructor Kate Davidson agrees karmaCover768px[1]to teach doga—yoga for dogs—at a fundraiser for Dogma, a local animal rescue, she believes the only real damage will be to her reputation. But when an animal rights protest at the event leads to a suspicious fire and a drowning, a few downward-facing dogs will be the least of Kate’s problems…

The police arrest Dharma, a woman claiming to be Kate’s estranged mother, and charge her with murder. To prove Dharma’s innocence, Kate, her boyfriend Michael, and her German shepherd sidekick Bella dive deeply into the worlds of animal activism, organizational politics, and the dangerous obsessions that drive them.

And if solving a murder weren’t complicated enough, Kate will also have to decide whether or not to reconcile with the estranged mother who abandoned her over thirty years ago. Not to mention having to contend with an almost-bankrupt animal rescue, a cantankerous crow, an unwanted pigeon houseguest, and a rabbit in a doga class. What could possibly go wrong?

Which is more important characters or setting?

That’s a really tough one. I guess I’d have to say characters, because readers see the fictional worlds I create through my characters’ eyes. Yet it’s impossible not to be influenced by setting, and my work is firmly set in the setting of the Pacific Northwest. I only write about places I love, and I immerse myself in those places when I write. Still, without the characters, the setting would be meaningless.

Do you have an interesting quirk about your personality that you’d like to share?

I love dogs. Seriously. Major big time. So much that I always stop strangers and drool Weber--A Killer Retreat Coverall over their canine companions. My husband’s nickname for me is “The Creepy Puppy Lady.”

What do you do when you are not writing?

I divide my time pretty much equally between running my yoga studio, teaching yoga, writing, and fawning over my special-needs German shepherd, Tasha. Actually, that’s not true. Tasha get’s 80% of my time. The remaining 20% is divided between writing and yoga. My husband gets any scraps that are left over.

Do you read the same genre you write?

Absolutely. I love all mysteries, but I’ve been a cozy mystery reader since long before I knew there was a genre by that name. I also love courtroom dramas, suspense and most anything written by Stephen King.

What is #1 on your bucket list?

Traveling to Africa and going on safari. I’ve wanted to do this since I was about three!

What social media do you participate in?

I love Facebook, though I have to admit, I’d get a lot more writing done if I spent less time on it. Still, how can you not love something that connects you with old friends, introduces you to new ones, and inundates you with cute puppy pictures! If you want to “friend” me at https://www.facebook.com/tracywe, I’d love it. I also have an author page at https://www.facebook.com/TracyWeberAuthor/, but I post much more frequently on my personal page. When it comes to Twitter, I’m a Twidiot. I don’t even use any of the others.

Would you share an excerpt from your book?

I’d be delighted to! This scene takes place while Kate does a little breaking and entering, looking for clues. I don’t want to say much more for fear of giving anything away. 😉

EXCERPT FROM KARMA’S A KILLER:

I sat at the keyboard and tried to guess the computer’s password. DogMa, HEAT, PuppyLove, password1, and PasswordsSuck all netted nothing. I picked up the dog-shaped paperweight and absently tossed it back and forth between my hands. Its eyes seemed to glitter.

Look at me, dummy!

Could it be that obvious?

I set the fake dog next to the keyboard and typed in several iterations of the words “golden retriever.”

Nothing.

Well, it was worth a try.

I was trying various combinations of the names Maggie and Sally when the floor boards behind me creaked. I would have sworn that Rene had been gone less than two minutes.

“Wow, that was quick. You do have a small bladder.”

Rene replied with a high-pitched squeak. The door clicked shut behind her.

“Raise your hands and don’t make any fast moves.”

Adrenaline jolted down my spine.

The voice didn’t belong to Rene.

One thought on “Interview: Tracy Weber, author

Leave a Reply

