Interview: Katherine Grey, Author

ImpetuousAt the age of four, Katherine pestered her mother to teach her to read. From that point on, she spent the most of her childhood lost in the pages of one book after another. Soon she began writing stories of her own, populated with characters doing all of the things she was too shy to even contemplate doing herself. When she started talking to her friends about the characters in her head as though they were real people, she decided it was time to start putting all those people populating her mind along with their exploits down on paper. Friends have gotten used to Katherine’s imaginary friends but still often ask, “Wait, is this a real person?” whenever she mentions someone they don’t know. Katherine lives in upstate NY with her family, but threatens to move south at the beginning of every winter season.

You have published three books – Impetuous (Aug 2011), The Muse (May 2012) and An Unexpected Gift (Oct 2012) all historical romances. What do you like about the genre? The first romance novel I ever read was a historical set in the Regency period so the time period holds a special appeal. It was a time of strict social rules and yet great excesses at the same time. It could be a general fascination with the aristocracy in general. Today, many people are intrigued by the royal family and their lives. I’m also a bit of a history buff with a degree in Art History. And of course who can resist falling for a duke, or an earl, or a rake who really wants nothing more than to find the woman of his dreams and settle down?

TheMuse_w6926_680Do you people watch for character inspiration? I don’t usually people watch so much as I eavesdrop on nearby conversations while I’m standing in line, waiting in a doctor/dentist office, even sitting in a restaurant. Once I was out to dinner with family and overheard just a bit of the conversation of a nearby couple was having and a whole scene just blossomed in my mind. I grabbed a bunch of paper napkins wrote it down before it was lost in the ether. My family just kept handing me napkins – yes, they’re used to me doing such things.

Do you have a favorite writing place? I write at the dining room table. I don’t know if I can say it’s my favorite writing place, but it’s where I get the most work done so that’s a good thing. :o)

Who is your favorite historical character by another author? Choosing just one is hard. I do admire Scarlet O’Hara from Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell. Scarlet went after what she wanted. She didn’t let herself be defined by the social conventions of the day. Although I do admit not everything she did made her likeable or even a sympathetic character at times. I also love the character of Atticus Finch of To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. He risks so much by representing a black defendant that many of the townspeople are already convinced is guilty. He stands up for what he believes in regardless of the cost to himself. I sometimes wish I could be more like that.

The Unexpected GiftWhat’s next for you? I’m currently working on a contemporary series set in Washington DC and Virginia. I hope to start submitting the first book by the end of June. I also want to write Finch’s story. (Finch is a secondary character in An Unexpected Gift.)

You can contact Katherine on:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Katherine-Grey/265375626827267?sk=wall

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/Katherine_Grey

or on her blog at http://katherinegrey.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

