Review: ONE SECOND AFTER

One Second AfterONE SECOND AFTER By William R. Forstchen

Forge Books, Reprint edition (April 26, 2011) Apocalyptic thriller

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real…a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages…A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future…and our end.

Recommended to me by a friend I dived into a world that could happen any second now. This is not an easy book to read but once you start you can’t put it down.

Forstchen’s use of the overwhelming about of research he had to do for this novel is excellent. The story ebbs and flows into every area of life from what happens in a care facility when everything shuts down to the agony of a pharmacist when knows she only has enough meds for the town for a fews days. Who gets them…and who doesn’t.

This book will keep you up at night. It will break your heart and it’s a book I firmly believe everyone should read because any second now it could happen.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s