ODD THOMAS by Dean Koontz

514Z5s+6MSL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_I just started steaming movies and have made some wonderful discoveries.  One of them was the Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries and I am still pining for that wardrobe of hers.  *Sigh*

Another “discovery” is Dean Koontz’s ODD THOMAS.  I’ve never been much of a fan of his not because I don’t like his work but I tend to shy away from the horror  genre.  In other words, I’ve made a judgement call without facts.  (Hanging my head in shame now.)

Well, I stumbled onto the movie and found it wonderful and then realized it was from Koontz’s work.   The premise is this (from Amazon):

“The dead don’t talk. I don’t know why.” But they do try to communicate, with a short-order cook in a small desert town serving as their reluctant confidant. Meet Odd Thomas, the unassuming young hero of Dean Koontz’s dazzling New York Times bestseller, a gallant sentinel at the crossroads of life and death who offers up his heart in these pages and will forever capture yours. 
 
Sometimes the silent souls who seek out Odd want justice. Occasionally their otherworldly tips help him prevent a 91+JZMVsdPL._SL1500_crime. But this time it’s different. A stranger comes to Pico Mundo, accompanied by a horde of hyena-like shades who herald an imminent catastrophe. Aided by his soul mate, Stormy Llewellyn, and an unlikely community of allies that includes the King of Rock ’n’ Roll, Odd will race against time to thwart the gathering evil. His account of these shattering hours, in which past and present, fate and destiny, converge, is a testament by which to live—an unforgettable fable for our time destined to rank among Dean Koontz’s most enduring works.

UnknownThe movie starred Anton Yelchin, Ashley Sommers and William Defoe and was vividly done. The characters were quirky and there was a perfect blend of humor and terror. I recommend it highly.

The story also has a graphic novel for you fans of that wonderful genre.

And, yes, I’m reading the book 🙂

2 thoughts on “ODD THOMAS by Dean Koontz

  1. I love Dean Koontz! His Chris Snow novels, Fear Nothing and Seize the Night inspired me to write my vampire series…and there isn’t a vampire in his books. But, it’s a great two book series. Wish he’d write the third book!

Leave a Reply

