Interview with paranormal author Kathryn Knight

AuthorPhotocrop2[1]As a child, Kathryn Knight kept her parents on a constant quest to find enough reading material to last her through each week. An early fondness for books about horses later gave way to a lasting preference for both love stories and ghost stories; as a writer, the paranormal romance genre is a perfect fit.

Silver Lake, Kathryn’s first novel, released in August of 2012 from The Wild Rose Press and was a Finalist in the 2013 RomCon Reader’s Crown Awards. Her second novel, Gull Harbor, released in February of 2013 and remained on the Kindle Bestseller list for 19 consecutive weeks. She lives in New England with her husband, her sons, and a number of rescued animals.

Tell us about your interest in ghost stories. Have you had a paranormal experience personally? I’ve been an avid reader since I was very young, and my father would bring home a stack of library books for me once a week. When I was about ten years old, one book in the pile had the tagline “A ghost story…and a love story”. The book was the classic Young Adult novel Jane-Emily, by Patricia Clapp. This sweet historical paranormal romance made a huge impact on me; from then on, ghost stories mixed with romance have always been my favorite. I love the blend of a suspenseful, spooky ghost story combined with a tension-filled romance, and that’s what I set out to write.

I’ve never actually seen a ghost, although it’s not from lack of trying. But in my research, I’ve attended many events designed to connect with spirits. Twice I’ve had psychic mediums come up to me, without ever meeting me or even knowing my name, and tell me personal details about my life that were frighteningly accurate. These experiences solidified my belief in things we may not be able to explain or understand.

Your latest release is DIVINE FALL (July 2014). Tell us about it. DIVINE FALL is my first Young Adult Paranormal Romance. DivineFall250The main character, Jamie Brandt, has suffered a great deal of tragedy in her 16 years, and her only goal is to finish high school and leave her small hometown behind. In the meantime, she spends her time at the barn where she boardsher horse, and it’s there she runs into Dothan Reed, the mysterious new stable hand. He’s obviously hiding some dangerous secrets, and somehow Jamie is connected to his quest for revenge. Despite a terrible betrayal, their connection deepens, and Dothan will ultimately have to choose between vengeance and the girl he loves.

Reviews are good – any possibility we will see these characters again? Thank you! I’ve been thrilled with the reviews so far, as well as the requests for more about Jamie and Dothan. I’ve had readers ask for a prequel as well, so I have lots to think about in terms of continuing the story. While I’m working on something different right now, I’ve left the door open to possibly revisit all these great characters.

SilverLake_w6412_300You have two other books out – SILVER LAKE and GULL HARBOR. Tell us about them. SILVER LAKE was my debut novel. The basic premise is a reunion between a group of former friends who became estranged when their friend Brandy vanished during their senior year of high school. Five years after Brandy’s disappearance, the group agrees to reunite at a lake house from their past in a final attempt to solve the mystery. The main character, Rain Anderson, is determined to find closure for Brandy’s terminally ill mother, and she’s also anxious to try to reconcile with Jason Lansing, the man whose heart she broke back in high school. As the paranormal activity at the lake house escalates throughout the summer, it becomes clear that Brandy’s ghost has a message to share, and she’s desperate enough to put her friends in danger in order to expose the truth.

GULL HARBOR, my second novel, is set on Cape Cod. The main character, Claire Linden, arrives in Gull Harbor ready to take perf5.000x8.000.inddon an aggressive ghost. Now that she’s embraced her gift as a medium, she’s confident she’ll succeed in ridding her temporary summer home of the restless spirit that drove the owners of the house to hire her. However, she never expects to also encounter Max Baron, the man who promised to love her forever, then disappeared suddenly from her life five years ago without a hint of an explanation. As Claire begins to unravel the truth behind the haunting, Max is forced to share his secret to stay close enough to Claire to try to protect her from a danger that extends beyond the paranormal.

What social media do you participate in? I spend a lot of time on social media, as it’s a great way to connect with readers. I tend to use Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest the most, and I post regularly on my blog, Kathryn Knight books. It can be time-consuming, but I honestly enjoy it, and my online presence helps generate interest in my books.

What’s next for you? As I mentioned, I’m working on a new story. I’ve tentatively titled it HAUNTED SOULS, and it’s a return to the steamy romance/ghost story combinations that I love so much. The hero is an EOD (Explosive Ordnance Disposal) Tech who’s returned from two tours. He’s reunited with the girl he met four years ago, right before he left for training, and he’s shocked to find out he has a son. Of course, she had her reasons for keeping it a secret, but she’s found the courage to come clean. Meanwhile, their son begins speaking to what they believe is an imaginary friend…but when the “friend” starts to manipulate things in the physical world, the two former lovers have to put aside their animosity and their disbelief in order to solve the mystery surrounding this lost soul who has attached himself to their son.

Thank you so much for hosting my interview, I enjoyed answering the questions, and I hope readers enjoyed learning more about my books!

For more reviews, interviews and new releases visit The Book Breeze at http://www.thebookbreeze.com

Leave a Reply

