YA Reviews – I AM THE WEAPON and SECOND STAR

I AM THE WEAPON
Allen Zadoff

Publisher:  Little Brown Books for Young Readers / May 13, 2014
Genre:  YA Thriller/Mystery

Description: They needed the perfect assassin. He is the perennial new kid in school, the one few notice and nobody thinks much about. He shows up in a new high school in a new town under a new name, makes a few friends, and doesn’t stay long. Just long enough for someone in his new friend’s family to die-of natural causes.” Mission accomplished, then he disappears, moving on to the next target.

Previously published under the title Boy Nobody

I didn’t know what to expect when I began reading.  The story is told in first person with a stinted writing style, which, at first, bugged me until I realized how well it fit with the character.  We have a young man who taken when he was twelve years old, told his parents are dead and trained by The Program as an assassin.  He is continually inserted into new situations with one mission – kill.  Yes, his life has been stinted.

As he moves from assignment to assignment he begins to step away from his programing and question his own actions.  He grows as a person.  This leads him into problems with The Program.

I recommend this book and I look forward to the second book in the series – I Am The Mission.

 

SECOND STAR
By Alyssa B. Sheinmel

Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group  (May 12, 2014)
Genre: YA

Description:  A twisty story about love, loss, and lies, follows seventeen-year-old Wendy Darling on a search for her missing surfer brothers. Wendy’s journey leads her to a mysterious hidden cove inhabited by a tribe of young renegade surfers, most of them runaways like her brothers. Wendy is instantly drawn to the cove’s charismatic leader, Pete, but her search also points her toward his nemesis, the drug-dealing Jas. Enigmatic, dangerous, and handsome, Jas pulls Wendy in even as she’s falling hard for Pete. A radical reinvention of J. M. Barrie’s classic tale, Second Star is an irresistible summer romance about two young men who have yet to grow up—and the troubled beauty trapped between them.

What first drew me to this book was the surfing.  I grew up in Southern California surrounded by the beach and surf movies and while the one and only time I ever surfed I broke my nose, I can’t get enough of it.  (And yes, I still watch Big Wednesday at least once a year.)  So when this surf story landed on my desk I jumped on it and I was not disappointed.  It’s a wonderful remake of the classic PETER PAN as this Wendy searches for her ‘lost boys’ brothers.

This story of hope and heartache and making choices is a wonderful summer time read.  I definitely recommend it.

 

Reviewed for The Book Breeze by Donna Keihle

Leave a Reply

