Collette Cameron interview

Wendy Herrington pen name Collette CameronCOLLETTE CAMERON

 Q:  Tell us about your new release.

I’d love to. The Earl’s Enticement is a Regency-Scottish Historical and the final book in my Castle Brides Series. I can’t seem to write straight Regency. This is Adaira Ferguson and Roark, the Earl of Clarendon’s story. They were introduced inHighlander’s Hope.

Adaira is a fiery Scot who wears breeches, swears, and

has no more desire to marry that she does to follow society’s dictates of appropriate behavior. She trusts no man with the secret she desperately protects.

Haunted by his past, Roark rigidly adheres to propriety, to the point of stuffiness. Betrayed once, he’s guarded and leery of all women.

Sparks fly when Adiara mistakes Roark for a known spy and imprisons him. Infuriated, he vows vengeance. He’s determined to transform Adaira from an ill-mannered hoyden to a lady of refinement. He succeeds only to discover he preferred the free-spirited Scottish lass who first captured his heart.

Things are rather messy along the way, I might add.

Q:  How much research do you do for a book?

I research anything and everything a reader might question. And of course, anything I don’t know.

For The Earl’s Enticement, I had to research horses, Clydesdales, owls, Scottish food, Scot’s swear words, dungeons, diseases rats carry, poisons that kill without a trace…and tons more.

That’s one of the reasons I love writing historicals. I get to dig up all sorts of interesting stuff. Okay, sometimes I find weird and downright creepy trivia too.

Q:  What makes your book stand out in the sea of historical romances?

There is a veritable sea of historicals, isn’t there?

I mentioned above, I don’t write typical Regencies. The Earl’s Enticement is set in Scotland as the story opens. Readers get a wonderful glimpse into the life of a large Scottish family and the keep, Craiglocky, they call their home. When the story does move to England, I keep it in the English Countryside, not the typical London or ballroom setting.

I don’t want to give too much away, but let’s just say my hero has an interesting assortment of staff and animals, which I hope will invoke an emotional reaction from the readers. This book also has a suspense subplot to keep readers guessing, and as always, my humor shows up from time to time.

Q:  Are your stories character driven or action driven?

Hmm, I’ve been told characterization is one of my strengths. I know my characters very, very well before I start their stories. After all, I make both my hero and heroine complete a questionnaire of over fifty questions before I even type, “Chapter One.”

They complain that I’m intrusive. I tell them I get to be. I created them.

Still, they often say and do things I hadn’t anticipated, so I have to say, my stories are character driven. At times, my hero/heroine, or even a secondary character, will totally change the direction I thought we were going. My characters get impatient with me when I attempt to argue with them. I usually admit defeat and let them have their way.

Q:  Do you read the same genre you write?

Absolutely!

I adore Regency, Georgian, Victorian, Highlanders, medieval, Scottish…you get the idea. Almost anything that’s called a historical romance, especially set in England or Scotland, and I’ll devour it.

Q:  Are there any new authors that have grabbed your interest?

I’ve been privileged to make friends with several authors who write truly wonderful historicals. Amylynn Bright, Ella Quinn, Christi Caldwell, Lauren Smith, Elf Ahearn…all write captivating historicals. I love their voices and their unique stories.

Q:  What books have most influenced your life?

Honestly, not any one book has truly influenced my life other than the Bible.

My all-time favorite romance novel, the first full length one I ever read, was The Flame and the Flower by Kathleen Woodiwiss. I even named my daughter, Brianna, after the heroine, Heather Brianna.

Yes, she knows. I told her when I started writing romances.

Q: What is the one question you wish an interviewer would ask you?

I’m supposed to say something profound here aren’t I?

I’ve been asked so many things in interviews, I can’t even begin to think of something I want to be asked. Believe it or not, I haven’t been asked if I prefer to read ebooks or print novels.

While I own a Kindle and have a Kindle app on my Ipad, I’m a book in my hands person. I read lots of ebooks, but there’s something about snuggling up with my dachshunds, a soft throw, a cup of coffee and sticking my nose in a book that can’t be beat. I love the way books smell and the feel of the pages beneath my fingers. I like turning down the corner just the tiniest bit to mark my page. (Yes, I have hundreds of bookmarks, but I still turn the corners down.)

Nothing too spectacular about that, was there? Still, I was beyond thrilled when my first book released in paperback in April 2014. To think someone else will caress the pages of something I wrote. Try that on an ereader and you end up with fingerprints and smudges that make it hard to see the words.

Q:  Which fictional character would you like to be friends with in RL?

Cinderella…I know, she’s animated.

I thought about Jane Eyre since I write Regency and Jane Austen is the queen of Regency along with Georgette Heyer.  But Cinderella is more my type of person. Kind, hardworking, forgiving, and let’s not forget friends with animals. That fairy godmother watching over her bit might come in pretty darn handy too. Plus, I really, really love castles.

Thanks so much for interviewing me! It’s been a real treat.

Leave a Reply

